Report to Congress on Naval Ship Names Seafarers News

The following is the March 1, 2023 Congressional Research Service Report, Navy Ship Names: Background for Congress.

From the report

Names for Navy ships are traditionally chosen and announced by the Secretary of the Navy under the direction of the President and in accordance with rules prescribed by Congress. Rules for assigning specific types of names to specific types of ships in the Navy have evolved over time. There were exceptions to the Navy’s ship naming rules, particularly for the purpose of naming a ship after a person when the rule for that type of ship would have called for a different naming. Some observers have noted a breakdown or corruption in the rules for naming naval vessels.

Section 370 of the NDAA for Fiscal Year 2021 (HR 6395/PL 116-283 dated January 1, 2021) established a commission, commonly referred to as the Naming Commission, regarding the removal and renaming of certain Department of Defense assets (including ships) that Remember the Confederate States of America (CFA) or any person who has voluntarily served with the CFA. The naming commission published its recommendations in August and September 2022. In accordance with one of the commission’s recommendations, the Navy announced on February 27, 2023 that the cruiser USS Chancellorsville (CG-62) would be renamed USS Robert Klein.

Names for naval ship types currently or recently procured for the Navy include the following:

  • The first and second SSBN-826 class ballistic missile submarines (SSBNs) were designated District of Columbia and Wisconsin.
  • Until recently, Virginia-class attack submarines (SSN-774) were generally named after states, but the four most recently named Virginia-class boats were instead named in honor of previous US Navy attack submarines.
  • Of the Navy’s 15 most recently named aircraft carriers, 10 were named after former US Presidents and 2 after members of Congress.
  • Destroyers are named for deceased members of the Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard, including Navy Secretaries.
  • The first three FFG-62-class frigates were named Constellation, Congress, and Chesapeake in honor of three of the first six US Navy ships sanctioned by Congress in 1794.
  • Littoral Combat Ships (LCSs) were named after regionally important cities and towns in the United States.
  • Amphibious assault ships are named after US Marine Corps battles, early US Navy sailing ships, or World War II aircraft carriers.
  • San Antonio (LPD-17) class amphibious assault ships are named after major US cities and towns and cities and towns attacked on September 11, 2001.
  • John Lewis (TAO-205) class oilers are named after people who fought for civil and human rights.
  • Expeditionary Fast Transports (EPFs) are named after small US cities.
  • Expeditionary Transport Docks (ESDs) and Expeditionary Sea Bases (ESBs) are named after famous names or locations of historical importance to US Marines.
  • Navajo-class (TATS-6) towing, recovery and rescue vessels are named after prominent Native American or Native American tribes.

Download the document Here.

Related Articles

Back to top button