Railway corridor to link Delhi and Haryana with ports of Gujarat, Receives Ministry Approval

The Ministry of Railways has approved the 129km South Haryana Economic Rail Corridor, which will connect the city to four ports in Gujarat via Rajasthan.

The ministry will now conduct an investigation for the semi-high-speed rail corridor, but it will be years before construction begins.

The survey was budgeted at Rs 3.1 million.

After construction, trains can travel on the corridor at speeds of up to 130-160 km/h.

“After the construction of the corridor, Haryana will have direct connection with four ports of Gujarat – Kandla, Mundra, Navlakhi and Jakhau via this railway line. It will indirectly help connect Delhi to the four ports,” Rohtak MP Arvind Sharma said
Jhajjar on Tuesday.

The Haryana government approved the project in 2022.

The corridor to be built starts from Farrukhnagar in Gurgaon to Loharu in Bhiwani via Jhajjar and Charkhi Dadri and is expected to cost Rs.1,225 crore.

Eventually it will connect to Bahadurgarh and Sonipat in Haryana via the Orbital Rail Corridor under construction. There are already railway lines to Delhi and on to Rajasthan and Gurgaon, which will be connected to the Farrukhnagar-Loharu line. Jhajjar will have six stations including Dadri Toa, MP Majra, Chuchukwas, Matanhail and BirohaKhacharoli.

The project is being implemented by the Haryana Rail Infrastructure Development Corporation (HRIDC), a joint venture between Indian Railways and the Haryana government.

HRIDC is currently constructing the Haryana Orbital Rail Corridor (HORC) which will connect Palwal to Sonipat via Sohna, Manesar and Kharkhoda. Passenger and freight trains will run on the broad-gauge railway.

The aim of the project is to shorten the travel time for the region with the industrial centers. Once completed, the route to Gujarat from Delhi-NCR will be shorter, officials said.

Travel time between Delhi to Sikar, Jhunjhunu, Bikaner, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Barmer, Hanumangarh and Sri Ganganagar in Rajasthan except Delhi to Gandhidham, Bhuj and Dwarka in Gujarat will be shortened. Trains currently run from Delhi to Rajasthan via Rewari.

The Ministry of Railways has also approved a final survey of a double line between Gadi Harsuru and Loharu via Sultanpur Farrukhnagar, Jhajjar and Charkhi Dadri, the MP said.

Related Articles

Back to top button